Art Works Blog

And then there were nine . . .

April 27, 2010
Washington, DC

Approximately 325,000 high schoolers from across the U.S. participated in Poetry Out Loud this year. After a full day of semi-finals competition with all 53 state champions, nine of the talented teens are moving on to the National Finals competition tonight in DC. Hosted by actor John Leguizamo, the free competition kicks off at 7pm.

Competing tonight are: Youssef Biaz (Alabama), Annette Putnam (Illinois), Nora Sandler (Maryland), Diego Javier Steele (Montana), Emily Orellana (Nevada), Amber Rose Johnson (Rhode Island), Ruth Haile (South Dakota), Tia S. Robinson (Virginia), and Madeline Leigh Bunke (Wisconsin).

Three state champions also were named as Honorable Mentions in yesterday's semis: Barbara Gooding (Kentucky), Brianna Anderson (North Dakota), and Shantelle Eddy (U.S. Virgin Islands).

Can't be there in person tonight? Follow us on Twitter at #POL, @NEAarts, and @poetryoutloud

(l-r) Region One finalists Nora Sandler (Maryland), Amber Rose Johnson (Rhode Island), Tia S. Robinson (Virginia).

(l-r) Region Two Finalists: Annette Putnam (Illinois), Youssef Biaz (Alabama), and Madeline Leigh Bunke (Wisconsin).

(l-r) Region Three Finalists: Emily Orellana (Nevada), Diego Javier Steele (Montana), and Ruth Haile (South Dakota).
All photos by James Kegley

Add new comment