Art Works Blog

Let's Hear it for the 2014 NEA Jazz Masters!

Pardon the pun but we're completely jazzed about our four new NEA Jazz Masters: Anthony Braxton (composer, saxophonist, clarinetist, flutist, pianist, educator); Richard Davis (bassist, educator); Keith Jarrett (pianist, composer), and Jamey Aebersold (educator, saxophonist, pianist, bassist, banjo player), who will receive the A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy. Click on the name above each portrait to visit each Jazz Master's page on You can read the official announcement in our News Room. And don't forget to mark your calendar for the live webcast of the 2014 NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert on January 13, 2014!


Anthony Braxton. Photo by Carolyn Wachnicki

"[Anthony Braxton] is a beautiful artist in every sense of the word: performer, composer, educator, co-conspirator. Braxton is a supreme improviser and composer who searches with sounds."---Jason Moran



Richard Davis. Photo by Ken Halfman

"To me, [Richard Davis] shows strength and versatility within his musicianship—a versatility that seems to not compromise integrity and individuality, something many bassists can only dream to achieve."---Linda Oh



Pianist/composer Keith Jarrett. Photo by Rose Anne Colavito

"Along with Bill Evans, Keith Jarrett is perhaps the most influential pianist in the history of improvised music because of his mastery of the instrument, his creativity and deep harmonic knowledge. His playing transcends category.” --- NEA Jazz Master Charlie Haden



Jamey Aebersold. Photo by John Nation

"…Jamey has revolutionized the way people practice, teach, create, and perform their music. Jamey has carried his message that 'anyone can improvise' and that 'creativity is part of the nature of every person' throughout the world to great success, impacting generations of both aspiring and established jazz performers and teachers."---NEA Jazz Master David Baker

Who would you like to see become a 2015 NEA Jazz Master? Visit this link to make a nomination.

Add new comment