Recent Grants

Music: FY 2018 Grant Panelists

Art Works - Panel A
June 20, 2017

Karen L. Deschere
Executive Director
Wharton Institute for Performing Arts West Orange, NJ

Jonathan Bailey Holland
Chair of Composition, Theory and Music History Boston Conservatory at Berklee
Faculty Chair in Music Composition
Vermont College of Fine Arts
Arlington, MA

Brenda S. Nienhouse
Executive Director
Newport Performing Arts Center
Newport, RI

Alberto P. Rafols (Layperson)
Retired Doctor of Musical Arts, Pianist, Arts Administrator
Portland, OR

William E. Ryan
Professor of Music
Grand Valley State University
Grand Haven, MI

Jeannette A. Sorrell
Artistic Director and Conductor
Apollo's Fire – The Cleveland Baroque Orchestra
Cleveland Heights, OH

Art Works - Panel B
June 20, 2017

Kayla J. Boettcher
Executive Director
Sitka Summer Music Festival
Sitka, AK

Kareem A. George (Layperson)
Travel Designer, Principal
Culture Traveler, LLC
Franklin, MI

Gary S. Ginstling
Chief Executive Officer
Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
Carmel, IN

Roy J. Guenther
Professor Emeritus of Music
Executive Associate Dean Emeritus George Washington University
Resurrection Lutheran Church (Arlington)
Vienna, VA

Robert M. Istad
Artistic Director, Conductor, Professor
Pacific Chorale; California State University, Fullerton
Long Beach, CA

Jennifer Kim-Matsuzawa
President and Artistic Director
The People's Music School
Evanston, IL

Art Works - Panel C
June 22, 2017

Jean Cook
Musician, Producer, Program Associate
Internet Freedom Program at the Ford Foundation
New York, NY

Carla Johnson
Development Consultant
Tidewater Arts Outreach and Cape Henry Collegiate
Norfolk, VA

Miguel A. Rodriguez
Executive Director
Boston Baroque
Milton, MA

Marna R. Seltzer
Princeton University Concerts
Princeton, NJ

David C. Styers (Layperson)
Manager of Programs and Leadership Education Presidio Institute
El Cerrito, CA

Duain Wolfe
Chorus Director and Conductor
Chicago Symphony, Colorado Symphony
Chicago, IL

Art Works - Panel D
June 22, 2017

Krista Bradley
Executive Director
BlackRock Center for the Arts
Silver Spring, MD

Gregory A. Carroll
President/CEO – Arts Performance and Executive
Midnight Blue Jazz, LLC
Kansas City, MO

Socrates J. Garcia
Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Music Technology
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, CO

Ted M. Gioia
Plano, TX

Monika G. Herzig
Senior Lecturer – Arts Administration, Jazz Pianist
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Silvio D. Lim (Layperson)
Silver Spring, MD

Art Works - Panel E
June 28, 2017

Rebecca J. Davis
Concert Pianist/Teacher, Vice Chair
Minnesota State Arts Board
Vergas, MN

Christopher B. Denby (Layperson)
Executive Vice President
Chief Marketing Officer
The Advisory Board Company
Washington, D.C.

Dominick DiOrio
Composer, Conductor
Associate Professor of Music
Indiana University Jacobs School of Music
Bloomington, IN

Asha Srinivasan
Associate Professor of Music
Lawrence University
Appleton, WI

Wang Lu
Composer, Assistant Professor of Music
Brown University
Providence, RI

Edward C. Yim
American Composers Orchestra
New York, NY

NEA Jazz Masters Fellowships
February 8, 2017

William (Bill) Barke (Layperson)
Senior Fellow
Mindbridge Partners
Plymouth, MA

Gary Burton
Performing Artist
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Darlene D. Chan
Concert and Event Producer
Festival West, Inc.
Santa Monica, CA

Sheila J. Jordan
New York, NY

Christian L. McBride
Bassist, Composer, Arranger, Educator, Curator, Administrator
West Orange, NJ

Martin W. Mueller
Jazz Educator and Consultant
Portland, OR