National Endowment for the Arts to Webcast National Council on the Arts Meeting Friday, March 25, 2011 at 9:00 a.m.

Presentations will look at the intersection of technology, affordability, and arts education in building audiences

Washington, DC -- The 172nd meeting of the National Council on the Arts, the advisory body to the National Endowment for the Arts, will take place on Friday, March 25, 2011 from 9:00 – 11:00 a.m. EDT in room M-09 of The Nancy Hanks Center, 1100 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC. The public is invited to attend in person or to watch a live webcast at

The session will begin with an examination of the intersecting roles of technology, making the arts affordable, and arts education in building audiences. Presentations on their organizations' efforts in these areas will be made byDeborah Cullinan, executive director of San Francisco's Intersection for the ArtsHoward Herring, president & CEO of Miami's New World Symphony; and Arlene Shuler, president & CEO of New York City Center, who will speak on the center's annual Fall for Dance program.

During the second half of the session, NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman will make a presentation on the NEA's ongoing partnerships with three other federal agencies: the Department of Housing and Urban Development, National Science Foundation, and Department of Health and Human Services.

Please note that the Application and Guidelines review and voting will take place on Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 4:45 p.m. in room 716. If you wish to attend, please contact Liz Stark at 202-682-5744 or by March 23, 2011.

About the National Council on the Arts

The National Council on the Arts is convened three times per year to vote on funding recommendations for grants and rejections; to advise the Chairman on application guidelines, the budget, and policy and planning directions; and to recommend to the President nominees for the National Medal of Arts. Including the Chairman, there are 14 members -- James Ballinger, Miguel Campaneria, Ben Donenberg, JoAnn Falletta, Lee Greenwood, Joan Israelite, Charlotte Kessler, Bret Lott, Irvin Mayfield, Stephen Porter, Barbara Ernst Prey, Frank Price, Terry Teachout, and Karen Wolff; and six ex-officio members from Congress -- Senators Claire McCaskill (D-MO) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), and Congressman Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH). Appointment by Majority and Minority leadership of the remaining Members of Congress to the Council is pending. More information about the National Council on the Arts and its members can be found at

About the National Endowment for the Arts

The National Endowment for the Arts was established by Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the federal government. To date, the NEA has awarded more than $4 billion to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities. The NEA extends its work through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector. To join the discussion on how art works, visit the NEA at


NEA Public Affairs