National Endowment for the Arts to Webcast National Council on the Arts Meeting

Friday, October 26, 2012 session features agency updates and guest presentations

Washington, DC -- The tri-annual public meeting of the National Council on the Arts scheduled for Friday, October 26, 2012, will be live webcast at from 9:00 to 11:30 AM EST. The meeting includes agency business as well as guest presentations. An archived version of the webcast will be available at

In addition to updates from NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman, the chairman will introduce two new members of the National Council on the Arts; Paul Hodes and Emil Kang. Hodes is an attorney, musician, and the former U.S. Representative for New Hampshire's 2nd congressional district. Kang is the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's first executive director for the arts. He replaces Ben Donenberg, producing artistic director of The Shakespeare Center in Los Angeles, California.

The guest presentations are:

  • Elizabeth Streb, director, STREB Lab for Action Mechanics, will talk about her and her company's experience as part of the 2012 London Cultural Olympiad.
  • David Wasshausen, division chief with the US Department of Commerce/Bureau of Economic Analysis, will discuss new developments in the ways arts activities are recognized and measure using economic data.
  • Sue Schardt, executive director of the Association of Independents in Radio, will present Localore, a collaborative initiative to expand the reach of public media in local communities and foster greater civic engagement.

About the National Council on the Arts

The National Council on the Arts is convened three times per year to vote on funding recommendations for grants and rejections; to advise the chairman on application guidelines, the budget, and policy and planning directions; and to recommend to the President nominees for the National Medal of Arts.

Including the chairman, there are 16 members -- James Ballinger, Miguel Campaneria,  Aaron Dworkin, JoAnn Falletta, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Joan Israelite, Emil Kang, Charlotte Kessler, Bret Lott, Irvin Mayfield, Jr., Stephen Porter, Barbara Ernst Prey, and Frank Price. There are also six ex-officio members from Congress -- Senators Claire McCaskill (D-MO) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and U.S. Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH). Appointment by Majority and Minority leadership of the remaining two members of Congress to the council is pending.

Visit for more information about the National Council on the Arts and its members.


Sally Gifford