President Obama to Award 2011 National Medal of Arts and National Humanities Medal

On Monday, February 13, 2012 at 1:45 PM ET, President Obama will award the 2011 National Medal of Arts and National Humanities Medal in the East Room. The First Lady will also attend. This event will be open press and will also be live streamed at

Members of the media who wish to cover this event and do not have a hard pass must send their full name, date of birth, social security number, country of citizenship, gender, country of birth, and city and state of residence to by 6:00 PM ET on Friday, February 10, 2012.

At Monday’s event, the President will deliver remarks and present the awards to the following individuals and organization:

Individuals   Current residence
Will Barnetpainter and printmaker   New York, NY
Rita Dovepoet and author   Charlottesville, VA
Al Pacinoactor   Palisades, NY
Emily Rauh Pulitzercontemporary arts patron and philanthropist   St. Louis, MO
Martin Puryearcontemporary sculptor   Accord, NY
Mel Tillissinger, songwriter   Silver Springs, FL
André Wattsclassical pianist   Park Ridge, NJ

* Not able to attend


USO (United Service Organizations), Arlington, VA

The National Medal of Arts

The National Medal of Arts, established by Congress in 1984, is awarded by the President and managed by the National Endowment for the Arts. Award recipients are selected based on their contributions to the creation, growth, and support of the arts in the United States. Each year, the Arts Endowment seeks nominations from individuals and organizations across the country. The National Council on the Arts, the Arts Endowment's presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed advisory body, reviews the nominations and provides recommendations to the President, who selects the recipients.

The National Endowment for the Arts gratefully acknowledges The President's Committee on the Arts and the Humanities for its support of the 2011 National Medal of Arts.

Please see additional information on the National Medal of Arts on the NEA web site.

About the National Endowment for the Arts

The National Endowment for the Arts was established by Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the federal government. To date, the NEA has awarded more than $4 billion to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities. The NEA extends its work through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector. To join the discussion on how art works, visit the NEA at


Sally Gifford