National Endowment for the Arts to Webcast National Council on the Arts Meeting

Friday, June 28, 2013, session features agency updates and guest presentations

Washington, DC--The tri-annual public meeting of the National Council on the Arts is scheduled for Friday, June 28, 2013, and will be live webcast at from 9:00 to 11:30 a.m. ET. The meeting will take place at the NEA's offices at 1100 Pennsylvania Avenue NW in Washington, DC. Webcast viewers may register in advance, and an archived version of the webcast will be available at following the event.

In addition to the regular business of the Council, the meeting will feature two presentations. NEA Research Analyst Bonnie Nichols of the Office of Research & Analysis will present findings from Equal Opportunity Data Mining: National Statistics about Working Artists, a new NEA online research tool that mines information on the 2.1 million working artists in the United States. This is the first in a series of NEA Arts Data Profiles which will offer online, public data about arts workers, arts participation, and arts organizations.

Ken Kimery, executive producer of the Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra and program director of the Jazz Oral History Program, will discuss the NEA-supported Smithsonian Jazz Oral Histories Project. This project has transcribed the oral histories of more than 80 NEA Jazz Masters, along with other performers, relatives, and business associates. The interviews average six hours in length and cover a wide range of topics, from the subject’s early years to their experiences in the jazz music world. Audio recordings, transcripts, and other educational materials can be found on the Smithsonian Jazz website.


9:00-9:30 am   Opening Business
9:30-9:45 am   Updates from Acting Chairman, Joan Shigekawa
9:45-10:30 am   Presentation on Equal Opportunity Data Mining: National Statistics About Working Artists by Bonnie Nichols, research analyst
10:30-11:00 am   Presentation on Smithsonian NEA Jazz Masters Oral History Project, by Ken Kimery, executive producer of the Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra and program director of the Jazz Oral History Program
11:00-11:15 am   Concluding Remarks/Voting Results
11:30 am   Adjournment

The National Council on the Arts convenes three times per year to vote on funding recommendations; to advise the chairman on application guidelines, the budget, and policy and planning directions; and to recommend to the president nominees for the National Medal of Arts.

Including the chairman, there are 16 members: Miguel Campaneria, Bruce Carter, Aaron Dworkin, JoAnn Falletta, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Joan Israelite, Maria Rosario Jackson, Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, David "Mas" Masumoto, Irvin Mayfield, Jr., Barbara Ernst Prey, and Frank Price. There are also six ex-officio members from Congress: Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and U.S. Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH). Appointment by majority and minority leadership of the remaining two members of Congress to the Council is pending.  

Visit for more information about the National Council on the Arts and its members.


NEA Public Affairs