Live Webcast of NEA National Council on the Arts Meeting

Friday, October 31, 2014 session features agency updates and guest presentations

Rock Crystal Ewer.jpg

An ornate crystal pitcher with a gold mount

Rock crystal ewer, Egypt, late 10th–11th century, Fatimid, mounts by Jean-Valentin Morel, Sèvres (France), 1854, rock crystal with enameled gold mounts, The Keir Collection of Islamic Art on loan to the Dallas Museum of Art

Washington, DC--The tri-annual public meeting of the National Council on the Arts scheduled for Friday, October 31, 2014, will be live webcast at from 9:00 to 11:15 AM EST. The meeting includes agency business as well as guest presentations. An archived version of the webcast will be available at

The scheduled presentations are:

  • A presentation on the new NEA publication The Art of Empathy: Celebrating Literature in Translation, with Amy Stolls, NEA Director of Literature; Don Ball, Assistant Director of Publications, Office of Public Affairs; and Esther Allen, writer, editor, and literary translator. 
  • A presentation from the Dallas Museum of Art by Eugene McDermott Director Maxwell L. Anderson.
  • A presentation from the Center of Creative Arts (COCA), St. Louis, by Executive Director Kelly Pollock, COCA alumnus Christopher Page, and COCA student Brooke Terry.

About the National Council on the Arts

The National Council on the Arts is convened three times per year to vote on funding recommendations for grants and rejections; to advise the chairman on application guidelines, the budget, and policy and planning directions; and to recommend to the President nominees for the National Medal of Arts.

Including the chairman, there are 17 members: Bruce Carter, Aaron Dworkin, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Joan Israelite, Maria Rosario Jackson, Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, Rick Lowe, David "Mas" Masumoto, Irvin Mayfield, Barbara Ernst Prey, Ranee Ramaswamy, and Olga Viso. There are also six ex-officio members from Congress: Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and U.S. Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH). Appointment by majority and minority leadership of the remaining two members of Congress to the Council is pending.

Visit for more information about the National Council on the Arts and its members.

#  #  #