National Endowment for the Arts National Council on the Arts Meeting to Take Place Friday, March 28, 2014 at 9:00 a.m.

Live webcast available at

ETHEL at Tuba City.jpeg

A student plays the guitar practices with a member of the quartet playing a violin.

As part of Grand Canyon Chamber Music Festival's Native American Composer Apprenticeship Project, a member of ETHEL, the string quartet-in-residence, works with a student at the Navajo Nation city of Tuba City, Arizona. Photo by Clare Hoffman

Washington, DC —The 181st meeting of the National Council on the Arts, the advisory body to the National Endowment for the Arts, will take place on Friday, March 28, 2014 from 9:00–11:30 a.m. EDT in room M-09 of The Nancy Hanks Center, 1100 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC. The public is invited to attend in person or to watch a live webcast at The webcast will be archived afterwards and available in the Open Government section of the NEA's website.

Following the application and guidelines review and voting by the council, NEA Acting Chairman Joan Shigekawa will give an overview of recent Arts Endowment activities. The program will then continue with discussions by two NEA grantees: New York's Second Stage Theatre and Arizona's Grand Canyon Music Festival.

In fiscal year 2014, Second Stage Theatre received an NEA Art Works grant to support the New York premiere of Pulitzer prize-winning playwright Quiara Alegría Hudes' The Happiest Song Plays Last, the last in her trilogy of plays. Joining Hudes for the discussion will be the theater's artistic and associate artistic directors, Carole Rothman and Christopher Burney, respectively, as well as Armando Riesco, who has performed in each of the plays that make up the trilogy, including the current Second Stage production.                 

Also a recent NEA grantee, the Grand Canyon Chamber Music Festival receives NEA support for the Native American Composer Apprenticeship Project, which pairs students from Navajo and Hopi reservation high schools with composers-in-residence to create original works, which are then performed by a professional quartet. Clare Hoffman, artistic director of the Grand Canyon Chamber Music Festival will be joined by two of the programs graduates, Russell Goodluck and Celeste Lansing, for the discussion.

About the National Council on the Arts

The National Council on the Arts convenes three times per year to vote on funding recommendations; to advise the chairman on application guidelines, the budget, and policy and planning directions; and to recommend to the president nominees for the National Medal of Arts.

Including the acting chairman, there are 17 members: Bruce Carter, Aaron Dworkin, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Joan Israelite, Maria Rosario Jackson, Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, Rick Lowe, David "Mas" Masumoto, Irvin Mayfield, Jr., Barbara Ernst Prey, Ranee Ramaswamy, and Olga Viso. There are also six ex-officio members from Congress: Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and U.S. Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH). Appointment by majority and minority leadership of the remaining two members of Congress to the Council is pending.  

About the National Endowment for the Arts

The National Endowment for the Arts was established by Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the federal government. To date, the NEA has awarded more than $4 billion to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities. The NEA extends its work through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector. To join the discussion on how art works, visit the NEA at


NEA Public Affairs

Related Content

Register for the live webinar.

Read more about Grand Canyon Chamber Music Festival's Native American Composer Apprenticeship Project in NEA Arts.