National Council on the Arts Public Meeting, Friday, June 24, 2016

Guest Presentations Explore the Intersection between Art and Technology
screen shot of mobile app

The National Council on the Arts meeting will include a presentation about the Michigan Council for the Arts’ MI Art Tours mobile app, featuring 1,171 art works and 72 curated tours.

Washington, DC – The tri-annual public meeting of the National Council on the Arts, the advisory body for the National Endowment for the Arts, takes place on Friday, June 24, 2016 and will be live webcast at from 9:00 to 11:15 am EDT. The meeting includes agency business as well as guest presentations exploring the intersection of art and technology. An archived version of the Friday webcast will be available at

The scheduled presentations are:

9:00-9:30 am  Opening Business

Voting on Recommendations for Funding and Rejection & Guidelines

Updates from Jane Chu, Chairman

9:30-10:00 am  Presentation on the Cooper-Hewitt Pen

Caroline Baumann, Director, Cooper-Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum

John Ryan, Director of Digital Interaction, Local Projects

The Cooper-Hewitt Pen is a handheld device that allows museum visitors to interact with museum exhibits. Later, visitors can access the information they’ve gathered through their own personal devices.

10:00-10:30 am  Presentation on MI Art Tours App from Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs

John Bracey, Executive Director, Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs

The MI Art Tours app points users to different public artworks throughout the state. The app currently features more than 1,100 art works and 72 curated tours.

10:30-11:00 am  Presentation on the Virtual Choir

Eric Whitacre, Composer & Conductor

The Virtual Choir invites YouTube users to upload videos of themselves singing their own interpretation of Eric Whitacre’s compositions. Their voices are then synthesized to create a choral effect, and their videos are merged into stunning visual artwork.

11:00-11:15 am   Concluding Remarks/ Voting Results

Jane Chu, Chairman

11:15 am  Adjournment

About the National Council on the Arts

The National Council on the Arts is convened three times per year to vote on funding recommendations for grants and rejections; to advise the chairman on application guidelines, the budget, and policy and planning directions; and to recommend to the President nominees for the National Medal of Arts. Including the chairman there are 18 members of the National Council on the Arts: Bruce Carter, Ph.D., Aaron Dworkin, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Maria Rosario Jackson, Ph.D., Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, Rick Lowe, David "Mas" Masumoto, Irvin Mayfield, Jr., Barbara Ernst Prey, Ranee Ramaswamy, Diane Rodriguez, Tom Rothman, and Olga Viso. Ex-officio members from Congress are Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), and Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH). 


NEA Public Affairs