National Endowment for the Arts Public Meeting, Thursday, March 24, 2016

Guest Presentations Focus on Military and Healing Arts
theater masks created by service members on display table

On November 12, 2015, NEA Chairman Jane Chu visited the Pentagon for the Department of Defense’s Healing Arts Recognition Event. Several service members shared artwork including masks that they created as part of the NEA Military Healing Arts Partnership. Photo by Sally Gifford.

Washington, DC--The tri-annual public meeting of the National Council on the Arts takes place on Thursday, March 24, 2016 from 9:00 to 11:30 am EDT. The meeting will be held in Conference Room A and B on the Plaza Level of the Constitution Center at 400 7th St. SW, Washington, DC. The meeting will be live webcast at as well and features agency business as well as guest presentations. An archived version of the Thursday webcast will be available at

The scheduled presentations are:

9:00-9:30 am                      Opening Business

                                             Voting on Recommendations for Funding and Rejection & Guidelines

                                             Carol Walton, Senior Advisor for Programs & Partnerships

                                             Jillian Miller, Director of Guidelines and Panel Operations

                                             Updates from Jane Chu, Chairman

9:30-9:45 am                      Presentation on 50th Anniversary Videos

                                            Jess Sarmiento, Director of Public Affairs

9:45-10:15 am                    Presentations on IMPart at the Art League of Alexandria

                                            Suzanne Bethel, Executive Director of the Art League of Alexandria

10:15-10:45 am                  Presentation “All the Way Home

                                            Marty Pottenger, Executive Director, Terra Moto Inc

10:45-11:15 am                  Presentation on Hot Shop for Heroes Program

                                            Deborah Lenk, Executive Director, Museum of Glass

11:15-11:30 am                  Concluding Remarks/Voting Results

                                            Jane Chu, Chairman

11:30 am                             Adjournment

About the National Council on the Arts

The National Council on the Arts is convened three times per year to vote on funding recommendations for grants and rejections; to advise the chairman on application guidelines, the budget, and policy and planning directions; and to recommend to the President nominees for the National Medal of Arts.

Including the chairman there are 18 members of the National Council on the Arts: Bruce Carter, Ph.D., Aaron Dworkin, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Maria Rosario Jackson, Ph.D., Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, Rick Lowe, David "Mas" Masumoto, Irvin Mayfield, Jr., Barbara Ernst Prey, Ranee Ramaswamy, Diane Rodriguez, Tom Rothman, and Olga Viso. Ex-officio members from Congress are Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), and Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH). 


NEA Public Affairs