Group of four awards on table.

NEA Jazz Masters Fellowships

The NEA Jazz Masters Fellowship is the highest honor that our nation bestows on jazz artists. Each year since 1982, the program has elevated to its ranks a select number of living legends who have made exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz. For more information, read our brief history of the program.

On Saturday, April 1, 2023, the National Endowment for the Arts, in collaboration with the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, will celebrate the 2023 honorees with a tribute concert. This concert will also mark the culmination of the NEA’s celebration of the 40th anniversary of the NEA Jazz Masters program. More information will be available in early 2023.

Photos of the four honorees with text reading National Endowment for the Arts 2023 Jazz Masters

2023 NEA Jazz Masters (left to right): Louis Hayes (photo by Janette Beckman), Regina Carter (photo by Jeff Dunn), Kenny Garrett (photo by Jimmy Katz), Sue Mingus (Photo courtesy Mingus Archives)

Tribute Concerts (2012-2022) | Photo Gallery

All Jazz Masters

2023 NEA Jazz Masters Fellows


Regina Carter

Violinist, Educator

Kenny Garrett

Saxophonist, Composer, Arranger, Bandleader

Louis Hayes

Drummer, Bandleader

Sue Mingus

Author, Archivist, Band Manager, Educator, Musical Director, Record Producer

Nominate an NEA Jazz Master Fellow!

The Arts Endowment encourages nominations from the public of a broad range of individuals who have been significant to the field of jazz through vocal and instrumental performance, creative leadership, and education.
Make a Nomination!

Recent NEA Jazz Masters Podcasts

Revisiting Henry Threadgill

Composer, multi-instrumentalist, and 2021 NEA Jazz Master

Stanley Clarke

Bassist, Composer, and 2022 NEA Jazz Master

Cassandra Wilson

Singer, Songwriter, Musician, and 2022 NEA Jazz Master