Slide with image of the National Medal of Arts

National Medal of Arts

The National Medal of Arts is the highest award given to artists and arts patrons by the United States government. The National Medal of Arts is awarded by the President of the United States to individuals or groups who "...are deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to the excellence, growth, support and availability of the arts in the United States."

All Medalists

2019 National Medal of Arts


Alison Krauss


Sharon Percy Rockefeller

Broadcasting Executive & Patron of the Arts

Jon Voight