Several medals laid out on a table.

National Heritage Fellowships

The NEA National Heritage Fellowships recognize the recipients' artistic excellence and support their continuing contributions to our nation's traditional arts heritage. Nominations for the award come from the public, so be sure to nominate a master folk and traditional artist who has made significant contributions to our nation's traditional arts heritage.


On June 15, 2021, the 2021 NEA National Heritage Fellows were announced. Read the full press release to learn more.

Collage of Heritage Winners

2021 NEA National Heritage Fellows (from top left): Cedric Burnside (photo by Stephen Payne), Tom Davenport (photo by Bruce Jackson), Tagumpay De Leon (photo courtesy of the artist), Anita Fields (photo by Tom Fields), Los Lobos (photo by Piero F. Giunti), Winnsboro Easter Rock Ensemble (photo by Peter Jones), Nellie Vera Sánchez (photo by Sandra I. Rodríguez), Reginald “Reggio The Hoofer” McLaughlin (photo courtesy of the artist), Joanie Madden (photo courtesy of the artist).


All Heritage Fellows


2021 NEA National Heritage Fellows


Cedric Burnside

Hill Country Blues Musician and Songwriter

Tom Davenport

Filmmaker, Documentarian, and Media Curator

Tagumpay Mendoza De Leon

Rondalla Musician

Anita Fields (Osage/Muscogee)

Osage Ribbon Worker

Los Lobos

Mexican-American Band

Joanie Madden

Irish Flute Player

Nellie Vera Sánchez

Mundillo Master Weaver

Winnsboro Easter Rock Ensemble

Easter Rock Spiritual Ensemble

Nominate a National Heritage Fellow!

The National Endowment for the Arts encourages nominations of master folk and traditional artists to recognize artistic excellence, lifetime achievement, and contributions to our nation's traditional arts heritage.
Make a Nomination

Celebrate the 2020 National Heritage Fellows in The Culture of America: A Cross-Country Visit with the National Endowment for the Arts National Heritage Fellows. Storyteller Queen Nur hosted a virtual trip across the country, taking viewers into the homes and communities where the Fellows live and create. See the archive below.

2019 Concert  | Photo Gallery

National Heritage Fellows Podcasts

Reginald “Reggio the Hoofer” McLaughlin

Tap Dancer and 2021 National Heritage Fellow

Revisiting Karen Ann Hoffman (Oneida Nation of Wisconsin)

2020 NEA National Heritage Fellow, teacher, and Haudenosaunee Raised Beadworker

Suni Paz

2020 National Heritage Fellow