Research & Analysis

Research & Analysis

Research into the value and impact of the arts is a core function of the National Endowment for the Arts. Through accurate, relevant, and timely analyses and reports, the NEA elucidates the factors, conditions, and characteristics of the U.S. arts ecosystem and the impact of the arts on other domains of American life.

Research & Analysis Fact Sheet

Staff

Research & Analysis Director

Sunil Iyengar
Sunil Iyengar directs the Office of Research & Analysis at the National Endowment for the Arts. Since his arrival at...

Staff

David Berlin
Program Analyst, berlind@arts.gov
Neil Chidester
Program Analyst, chidestern@arts.gov
Patricia Germann
Research Specialist, germannp@arts.gov
Ellen Grantham
Program Analyst, granthame@arts.gov
Melissa Menzer
Program Analyst, menzerm@arts.gov
Bonnie Nichols
Operations Research Analyst, nicholsb@arts.gov
Patricia Moore Shaffer
Supervisory Program Analyst, shafferp@arts.gov

Recent Grants

Medal of Arts

An online grant search is available to find information on NEA grants from 2000 to the present.

GRANTEE RESEARCH

Research: Art Works Study Findings
Working papers, publications, and presentations that so far have resulted from NEA Research: Art Works grant funding.

National Endowment for the Arts Research Labs
NEA Research Labs are transdisciplinary research teams that function as centers of excellence for research on key topics associated with the value and impact of the arts. Stay tuned for more information in 2017.

Podcasts

Headshot of Akua Kouyate-Tate
Senior Director of Education at the Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts

Resources

Research Convenings 
National gatherings with researchers and arts and community experts.

Arts Data Profile Series
Pain-free introductions to arts-related datasets.

National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture
Hosted by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan.

UMass Amherst NEA Archives Collection
A digitization of more than 40 years of publications on the arts and arts management.

Publications

This report is a literature review and gap-analysis of recent research about the arts’ relationship to social-emotional benefits in early childhood. Music-based activities, drama/theater, and visual arts and crafts were...
This report summarizes themes and trends emerging from psychological and neurobiological studies of creativity. It explores models for trans-disciplinary research collaborations and it foregrounds artistic creation as a process worthy...