Agency Contacts

If you have questions about your application, please use the list below to determine your appropriate staff contact. We also encourage you to check the "Frequently Asked Questions" for a particular category for information.


For Art Works, contact the staff for the field/discipline that is most appropriate for your project:

Artist Communities: Pepper Smith, smiths@arts.gov or 202/682-5790

Arts Education (pre-K through 12 curriculum-based direct learning or professional development projects that align with either national or state arts education standards or collective impact projects):

Denise Brandenburg, brandenburg@arts.gov or 202/682-5044: Dance, Music, Opera

Nancy Daugherty, daughern@arts.gov 202/682-5521: Literature, Musical Theater, Theater

Lakita Edwards: Folk & Traditional Arts, Local Arts Agencies, Presenting & Multidisciplinary Works

Lakita Edwards, edwardsl@arts.gov or 202/682-5704: Design, Media Arts, Museums, Visual Arts

Dance (including dance presentation): Kate Folsom, folsomk@arts.gov or 202/682-5764; Juliana Mascelli, mascellij@arts.gov or 202/682-5656

Design (including architecture, communications and graphic design, fashion design, historic preservation, industrial and product design, interior design, historic preservation, landscape architecture, planning, universal design, rural design, social impact/public interest/human centered design, and urban design): Courtney Spearman, spearmanc@arts.gov or 202/682-5603

Folk & Traditional Arts (including folk & traditional arts projects in any art form): William Mansfield, mansfieldw@arts.gov or 202/682-5678

Literature: Jessica Flynn, flynnj@arts.gov or 202/682-5011

Local Arts Agencies Local arts agencies generally are referred to as arts councils, departments of cultural affairs, or arts commissions. LAAs can be nonprofit entities or public sector municipal, county, or regional agencies that operate in cooperation with mayors and city managers. LAAs may present and/or produce arts programming, commission and manage public art, administer grant programs, provide technical assistance to artists and arts organizations, and guide cultural planning efforts. Still others may own, manage, and/or operate cultural facilities and be actively engaged in community development, and partner with entities in tourism, social services, public education, housing, economic development, and public safety. All strive to enhance the quality of life in their communities by working to increase public access to the arts. You will also find national and statewide arts service organizations in the LAA portfolio that work primarily with a network of LAAs. LAAs should submit applications through Local Arts Agencies regardless of project discipline. There are two exceptions: Projects in which the primary discipline is Arts Education and Folk & Traditional arts projects. Please consult with staff prior to submission): Lara Holman Garritano, garritanol@arts.gov or 202/682-5586

Media Arts: Sarah Metz, metzs@arts.gov or 202-682-5511; Sarah Burford, burfords@arts.gov or 202-682-5591

Museums (including projects in any discipline that are submitted by a museum):

Organizations with names that begin A through N: Toniqua Lindsay, lindsayt@arts.gov or 202/682-5529

Organizations with names that begin O through Z: Kathleen Dinsmore, dinsmorek@arts.gov or 202/682-5719

Music (including music presentation):

Organizations with names that begin A through L: Court Burns, burnsc@arts.gov or 202/682-5590

Organizations with names that begin M through Z: Anya Nykyforiak, nykyfora@arts.gov or 202/682-5487

Jazz Projects: Katja von Schuttenbach, vonschuttenbach@arts.gov or 202/682-5711

Musical Theater (including musical theater presentation):

Organizations with names that begin A through M: Eleanor Denegre, denegree@arts.gov or 202/682-5509

Organizations with names that begin N through Z: Carol Lanoux Lee, leec@arts.gov or 202/682-5020

Opera (including opera presentation): Georgianna Paul, paulg@arts.gov or 202/682-5600

Presenting & Multidisciplinary Works (projects that involve multiple arts disciplines including multidisciplinary arts presenting and other types of multidisciplinary activities):

Organizations with names that begin A through E: Pepper Smith, smiths@arts.gov or 202/682-5790

Organizations with names that begin F through Z: Lara Allee, alleel@arts.gov or 202/682-5698

Theater (including theater presentation):

Organizations with names that begin A through M: Eleanor Denegre, denegree@arts.gov or 202/682-5509

Organizations with names that begin N through Z: Carol Lanoux Lee, leec@arts.gov or 202/682-5020

Visual Arts:

Organizations with names that begin A through O: Meg Brennan, brennanm@arts.gov, or 202/682-5703

Organizations with names that begin P through Z: Kathleen Dinsmore, dinsmorek@arts.gov or 202/682-5719

Creativity Connects Projects: CreativityConnectsGrants@arts.gov


Challenge America: challengeamerica@arts.gov


Our Town: ot@arts.gov


Research: Art Works: nearesearchgrants@arts.gov