NEA Jazz Masters

The NEA Jazz Masters Fellowship is the highest honor that our nation bestows on jazz artists. Each year since 1982, the program has elevated to its ranks a select number of living legends who have made exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz.

Watch the 2018 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert Archive >>

Make a Nomination


The 2018 NEA Guide provides details on the programs and activities that the NEA supports, as well as funding deadlines for our various grants. Included is information on Grants for...
Profiles the 2017 class of NEA Jazz Masters: Dee Dee Bridgewater, Ira Gitler, Dave Holland, Dick Hyman, and Dr. Lonnie Smith with brief biographies and selected discographies. April 2017. 28 pp.

Jazz Masters Audio

Headshot of a man.
Guitarist and 2018 NEA Jazz Master