National Council on the Arts Public Meeting, Friday, October 28, 2016

Guest Presentations Focus on the Arts in Non-Arts Sectors
students create metal horse with blowtorches

Students work on a metal horse as part of Fruits of Labor, a sculpture made through Erie Arts and Culture's Art and Industry Project. Photo courtesy of Erie Arts and Culture

Washington, DC—The fall meeting of the National Council on the Arts takes place on Friday, October 28, 2016 from 9:00 to 11:45 am EDT at the NEA offices at 400 7th St. SW, Washington, DC in Conference Rooms A and B on the main floor. Also, the meeting will be live webcast at The meeting includes agency business as well as guest presentations about the intersection of arts and non-arts sectors. An archived version of the Friday webcast will be available at

The meeting agenda is:

9:00-9:30 am                  Opening Business

                                                Voting on Recommendations for Funding and Rejection & Guidelines

                                                     Carol Walton, Senior Advisor for Programs & Partnerships

                                                     Jillian Miller, Director of Guidelines and Panel Operations

                                                Updates from the Chairman

                                                     Jane Chu, Chairman

9:30-10:00 am                 Presentation on the New Museum innovation incubator programs

                                                Lisa Phillips, Director of the New Museum

10:00-10:30 am               Presentation on NEXUS of Engineering and the Arts at the

                                       University of Iowa

                                                Deanne Wortman, Director of NEXUS Engineering and Art

10:30-11:00 am               Presentation on therapeutic music for the aging population

                                                Dan Cohen, Founder and Executive Director of Music & Memory

11:00-11:30am                Presentation on founding of Kickstarter

                                                Yancey Strickler, Co-Founder and CEO of Kickstarter

11:30-11:45 am               Concluding Remarks/Voting Results

                                                Jane Chu, Chairman

11:45 am                         Adjournment

About the National Council on the Arts

The National Council on the Arts is convened three times per year to vote on funding recommendations for grants and rejections; to advise the chairman on application guidelines, the budget, and policy and planning directions; and to recommend to the President nominees for the National Medal of Arts.

Including the chairman there are 18 members of the National Council on the Arts: Bruce Carter, Ph.D., Aaron Dworkin, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Maria Rosario Jackson, Ph.D., Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, Rick Lowe, David "Mas" Masumoto, Irvin Mayfield, Jr., Barbara Ernst Prey, Ranee Ramaswamy, Diane Rodriguez, Tom Rothman, and Olga Viso. Ex-officio members from Congress are Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), and Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH). 


NEA Public Affairs