National Council on the Arts Public Meeting, Thursday, October 26, 2017

VENUE CHANGE: Russell Senate Office Building on Capitol Hill
Small stage with young people playing musical instruments
Pick and Bow concert in Whitesburg, Kentucky. Photo by Mimi Pickering
Washington, DC­­­­­­­­­­­- On Thursday, October 26, 2017, the 192nd public meeting of the National Council on the Arts will take place on Capitol Hill at the Russell Senate Office Building, Room SR-485, 2 Constitution Ave NE, Washington, DC, from 10:00 am to 12:00 pm EDT, marking the first of three FY 2018 meetings when the Council will consider recommendations for funding. Please note that the meeting is on Thursday and will not be held at the NEA’s offices. This meeting will also include guest presentations about the impact of the arts in our nation’s communities, from creating jobs to helping youth develop essential life skills. For those unable to attend the meeting, an archived version will be available a few days following the meeting on the National Council on the Arts webpage. Guests should use the entrance to the Russell building located at 1st and Constitution, NE and plan to arrive prior to 10:00 am to allow time for security screening. The following is open to the press and the public: 10:00-10:30 am Opening Business Voting on Recommendations for Funding and Rejection Tony Chauveaux, Deputy Chairman for Programs and Partnerships Updates from the Chairman Jane Chu, Chairman 10:30-11:00 am Presentation from Missoula Children’s Theatre Michael McGill, Executive Director, Missoula Children’s Theatre* Jack L. Briggs II, Maj Gen USAF (Ret)* 11:00-11:30 am Presentation from Appalshop Ada Smith, Institutional Development Director, Appalshop* 11:30 am -12:00 pm Remarks from Members of Congress 12:00 pm Adjournment *Guest biographies are available here. About the National Council on the Arts The National Council on the Arts is convened three times per year to vote on funding recommendations for grants and rejections; to advise the chairman on application guidelines, the budget, and policy and planning directions; and to recommend to the President nominees for the National Medal of Arts. Including the chairman there are 18 members of the National Council on the Arts: Bruce Carter, Ph.D., Aaron Dworkin, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Maria Rosario Jackson, Ph.D., Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, Rick Lowe, David "Mas" Masumoto, Barbara Ernst Prey, Ranee Ramaswamy, Diane Rodriguez, Tom Rothman, and Olga Viso. Ex-officio members from Congress are Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), and Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH).


NEA Public Affairs 202-682-5570