National Council on the Arts Public Meeting, Friday, October 25, 2019

Presentations and performances demonstrate the power of the arts to shape lives through workforce development, coaching, and apprenticeship programs for teens
A young woman sits on a piano bench holding a guitar while two men stand casually leaning on the piano

2019 Musical Theater Songwriting Challenge winner Breezy Love seated at the piano with her coaching team Patrick Sulken (left) and César Alvarez (right). Photo by Maloos Photography

Washington, DC—The public is invited to the 198th meeting of the National Council on the Arts, which takes place on Friday, October 25, 2019 from 9:30 AM to noon ET at the Phillips Collection, located at 1600 21st St NW in Washington, DC. The meeting includes agency business as well as guest presentations about how the arts bring meaning to leadership programs, transform communities, and change lives through workforce development programs for young people. The meeting will be live webcast on, and an archived version will be available a few days following the meeting. Meeting Agenda: 9:30-10:00am Opening Business      Mary Anne Carter, Chairman   Voting on Recommendations for Funding and Rejection      Tom Simplot, Senior Deputy Chairman   Updates from the Chairman      Mary Anne Carter, Chairman
10:00-10:20am Presentation from the Boch Center      Joe Spaulding, President and Chief Executive Officer, Boch Center
10:20-10:30am Performance by Deniece Woodard, former Boch Center student
10:30-10:50am Presentation from the Alliance for Media Arts + Culture      Wendy Levy, Executive Director, the Alliance for Media Arts + Culture
10:50-11:10am Presentation from Roundabout Theatre Company      Julia Levy, Executive Director, Roundabout Theatre Company
11:10-11:30am Remarks from Breezy Love, 2019 Musical Theater Songwriting Challenge Winner, and her mentors César Alvarez and Patrick Sulken
11:30-11:40am Performance by Breezy Love
11:40-12:00pm Closing Remarks      Mary Anne Carter, Chairman      National Council on the Arts members
12:00pm Adjourn About the National Council on the Arts The National Council on the Arts is convened three times per year to vote on funding recommendations for grants and rejections, and to advise the chairman on application guidelines, the budget, leadership intitiatives and partnership agreements with other agencies, and policy and planning directions. Including the chairperson there are 18 members of the National Council on the Arts: Bruce Carter, Ph.D., Aaron Dworkin, Lee Greenwood, Deepa Gupta, Paul Hodes, Maria Rosario Jackson, Ph.D., Emil J. Kang, Charlotte Kessler, María López De León, Rick Lowe, David "Mas" Masumoto, Barbara Ernst Prey, Ranee Ramaswamy, Diane Rodriguez, Tom Rothman, and Olga Viso. Ex-officio members from Congress are Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), and Representatives Chellie Pingree (D-ME) and Glenn Thompson (R-PA).


Office of Public Affairs 202-682-5570