2012 NEA Jazz Masters Award Ceremony & Concert

At the 2012 NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert on January 10, 2012, the National Endowment for the Arts not only welcomed five new inductees into this elite group, but also celebrated 30 years of jazz and its importance in American culture. Held at Rose Theater in Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, nearly 40 previously named NEA Jazz Masters attended and more than 15 - including three of this year's inductees - joined the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis in a program of works that were also all composed by NEA Jazz Masters. The 2012 NEA Jazz Masters are drummer, keyboardist, and composer Jack DeJohnette; saxophonist Von Freeman; bassist, composer, and educator Charlie Haden; vocalist and educator Sheila Jordan; and educator, trumpeter, flugelhornist, composer, and arranger Jimmy Owens, recipient of the 2012 A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy.