Congratulations to the 2020 NEA National Heritage Fellows!

By Paulette Beete
A collage of photos of different individuals with art work or performing with the text 2020 National Endowment for the Arts National Heritage Fellowships
2020 National Heritage Fellows (clockwise from top left): William Bell (photo by David McClister), Onnik Dinkjian (photo courtesy of artist), Zakarya and Naomi Diouf (photos © RJ Muna), Karen Ann Hoffman (photo by Jim), Wayne Valliere (photo by Tim Frandy), Suni Paz (photo by Ramiro Fauve), John Morris (photo by Michael Keller), Hugo N. Morales (photo courtesy of Radio Bilingüe), and Los Matachines de la Santa Cruz de la Ladrillera (photo by Norma E. Cantú).

“Each year the Heritage Fellowships highlight the distinct living traditions of communities around our nation, as well as how our fellows instill a sense of pride, beauty, and cultural continuity through their art. The National Endowment for the Arts is pleased to recognize these outstanding artists with a National Heritage Fellowship.” — Mary Anne Carter, Chairman, National Endowment for the Arts

As part of the National Endowment for the Arts’ work to support and celebrate our nation’s rich traditional arts heritage, the agency is announcing the 2020 recipients of its National Heritage Fellowships. These lifetime honor awards of $25,000 are given in recognition of both artistic excellence and efforts to sustain cultural traditions for future generations. The 2020 National Heritage Fellows are: Soul Singer and Songwriter William Bell, Armenian Folk and Liturgical Singer Onnik Dinkjian, West African Diasporic Dancers Zakarya and Naomi Diouf, Iroquois Raised Beadworker Karen Ann Hoffman (Oneida Nation of Wisconsin), Traditional Religious Dancers Los Matachines de la Santa Cruz de la Ladrillera, Old-Time Fiddler and Banjo Player John Morris, Nueva Canción Singer and Songwriter Suni Paz, Birchbark Canoe Builder Wayne Valliere (Lac du Flambeau Ojibwe), and Radio Producer and Radio Network Builder Hugo N. Morales. MORE.