Regions and Divisions of the United States


New England

Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island

Remainder of New England

New Hampshire, Vermont

Middle Atlantic

New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania


East North Central

Ohio, Illinois, Michigan

Remainder of East North Central

Indiana, Wisconsin

West North Central

Missouri, Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas


South Atlantic

Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia

Remainder of South Atlantic

Delaware, District of Columbia

East South Central


Remainder of East South Central

Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi

West South Central


Remainder of West South Central

Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma



Nevada, Wyoming

Remainder of Mountain

Montana, Idaho, Utah, Arizona, New Mexico


California, Oregon, Washington

Remainder of Pacific

Alaska, Hawaii

Note: Due to sample sizes, the SPPA does not provide reliable estimates for all U.S. states. For those states not reliably captured by the survey, however, arts participation results are combined with results from other states in their respective divisions. For example, results for Indiana and Wisconsin are aggregated into "remainder of East North Central." This allows researchers to obtain estimates that are closer to the rates within those individual states than would be provided by consulting rates for the U.S. Census subdivisions alone.