2014 NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert, Part 1

2014 NEA Jazz Masters Jamey Aebersold, Anthony Braxton, Richard Davis, and Keith Jarrett were honored at the NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert at Lincoln Center on January 13, 2014. Hosted by Wynton Marsalis and Soledad O'Brien, the event included brief tribute videos, remarks by the awardees about their careers and influences, and performances by current and previously named NEA Jazz Masters along with guest musicians.

The webcast archive is available in three segments:
Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3

This segment's speakers included: hosts Wynton Marsalis and Soledad O'Brien welcoming the live and webcast audiences, NEA Senior Deputy Joan Shigekawa on the new class of NEA Jazz Masters, NEA Jazz Master Dave Liebman on 2014 honoree Jamie Aebersold, and Aebersold on his career in music education. Performances included renditions of Cedar Walton's "Bolivia," Charlie Parker's “Ornithology,” and Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Wave." 

See the concert program for more information on the event and participating musicians.