2014 NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert, Part 2

2014 NEA Jazz Masters Jamey Aebersold, Anthony Braxton, Richard Davis, and Keith Jarrett were honored at the NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert at Lincoln Center on January 13, 2014. Hosted by Wynton Marsalis and Soledad O'Brien, the event included brief tribute videos, remarks by the awardees about their careers and influences, and performances by current and previously named NEA Jazz Masters along with guest musicians.

The webcast archive is available in three segments:
Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3

This segment's speakers included: NEA Jazz Master Muhal Richard Abrams on 2014 honoree Anthony Braxton and Braxton on his career and creative philosophy. Poet and former NEA deputy A.B. Spellman introduced the tribute to the seven NEA Jazz Masters who died this past year. Performances included renditions of Anthony Braxton's “Trillium J”  and NEA Jazz Master Frank Wess's “Placitude.” 

See the concert program for more information on the event and participating musicians.