2020 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert Archive

On Thursday, August 20, 2020, the National Endowment for the Arts, in collaboration with SFJAZZ, honored the 2020 NEA Jazz Masters—Dorthaan Kirk (A.B. Spellman Jazz Masters Fellowship for Jazz Advocacy), Bobby McFerrin, Roscoe Mitchell, and Reggie Workman—in a virtual tribute concert.

Hosted by 2017 NEA Jazz Master Dee Dee Bridgewater, the online concert included performances by honorees McFerrin, Mitchell, and Workman, Music Director Terri Lyne Carrington, Ambrose Akinmusire, Dee Dee Bridgewater, James Carter, Gerald Clayton, Vincent Davis, Lisa Fischer, Morgan Guerin, Oliver Lake, Christian McBride, Jevon McFerrin, Madison McFerrin, Taylor McFerrin, Kanoa Mendenhall, Junius Paul, and Steve Turre, as well as the SFJAZZ High School All-Stars. The evening also included remarks by the 2020 NEA Jazz Masters, as well as Mary Anne Carter, chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts, and Randall Kline, founder and executive artistic director of SFJAZZ.

The National Endowment for the Arts also wants to acknowledge BMI, which for many years has supported the NEA Jazz Masters Awards Dinner, where they also present their annual BMI Future Jazz Master Scholarship winner. While the dinner wasn’t able to take place this year, BMI did announce their 2020 BMI Future Jazz Master Scholarship winner, Alec Schulman, a student at Berklee College of Music.





Previous NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert Webcasts:

2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019